Alaska Ride – June 29th, 30th – Days #35, #36

Ok, It’s been a couple of days since I finished the trip and haven’t updated the blog for completeness. We cruised home on the last couple of days and really didn’t spend much time sightseeing. The “take a break every hour” method of riding helped make the longer days go by much faster.

We decided to spend the last night camping so we could have one last campfire on the trip. We initially stopped at Goldpan Provincial Park. The sites were right on the Thompson River, but were sandwiched between two sets of railroad tracks. We opted to move on to the campground – Skihist Provincial Park. This was a much nicer campground – it was set back from the highway quite a bit. The railroad tracks were far away. The sites were a good size with a good amount of space between them.

I’m not used to many things back at home. There is night here! After having no darkness for so long, night seems a bit strange. There is way more traffic. We probably saw more cars between the border and Seattle than we did the rest of the trip, and we weren’t even riding through at rush hour.

I got exactly one night in my bed before heading out on the road again. Our hardwood floors are being refinished and several of our carpets are being replaced. So it is off to Montana for a week or so in the RV – normally, I would blog the trip, but I’m just going to relax on this one.

Once I get home, I’ll start processing pictures and videos. I’ll make some new posts with all of the good ones (and maybe some not so good ones).

4 comments

  1. Scott, when you get settled back in remind me of your address and I will send you some of our POCKETS so you will be ready for your next adventure. Bob

Leave a Reply

