Alaska Ride – June 28th – Day #34

Did not get much sleep last night. I set my alarm for 4a, and then crawled in bed. Then I realized that 4a Alaska time is 5a BC time, which was our arrival time in Prince Rupert. I wasn’t going to get up in time! Turns out, they came on the loudspeaker 45 minutes before our arrival time and woke everyone up. Plus we were late getting into port, so my alarm would have been ok anyhow.

Getting off the ferry was not a big deal, except for the loser who would not merge lanes with me while going into customs (3 lanes merged down to 2). I finally yelled at the guy and he let me in. The customs officer actually asked to see my bear spray – fortunately it was pretty easy to reach.

Today was a long day of riding, about half of which was in the rain. Our goal was to get to Vanderhoof (about 360 miles). We ended up getting all the way to Prince George (about 450 miles). We were taking short breaks every 60 minutes, which really helped us stretch the miles. We should be able to make it home on the 30th.

The ride itself wasn’t super exciting, we’ve covered most of this ground before and it isn’t the greatest scenery to begin with. We did see our first deer of the trip (if you don’t count Caribou) and we saw another black bear.

Didn’t take any pictures today – we were in cover lots of ground mode. We’ll see if I get any tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

