Alaska Ride – June 27th – Day #33

We are still on a boat! Slept pretty well last night – I cheated and took a couple of Advil PM to make sure. Rolled out of bed and went upstairs to the cafeteria for some breakfast. French toast, sausage, apple turnover and a root beer (everyone needs root beer at breakfast).

IMG_0538

The boat ride today was a bit less interesting than yesterday. Not as many mountain views, with the weather deteriorating as the day progressed. Yesterday the views were spectacular and different. Today was like cruising around the San Juan Islands all day – probably cool and unique for many people, but sorta ho-hum for me. We did stop at several ports, but we were behind schedule so they strongly encouraged people to stay on the boat, so we did.

Between eating at the cafe’, getting healthy food from the vending machine, and soda from the pop machine, I managed to get some quality nap time in. Also spent a good amount of time reading on the Kindle. I had a good enough data connection to connect to my slingbox while in Ketchikan – got to see the last out of the Mariner’s game. Hopefully I’ll be able to get to sleep at a decent hour tonight as we have an early start tomorrow.

Assuming the boat gets back on schedule, we’ll be landing at Prince Rupert at 5 in the morning. We are organizing our things so we can make a fast getaway when the time comes. We only have access to the bikes while the ship is docked. We are at Ketchikan right now and my dad is frantically figuring out what he needs to bring down with him. I’ve got it a bit easier – I have my small pannier and tank bag in the room. I can fit all my crap in those and bring them down in the morning.

Leave a Reply

