Alaska Ride – June 25th – Day #31

Clearly I am zipper challenged. I now have imminent zipper failure on the tent door. The zipper seems to zip fine, and then it just comes apart in places. Only a few more camping nights left before we get home, hopefully it will be good enough to last.

The wind blew like crazy last night. I’m glad they had a sheltered area for the tents, otherwise we may have been lifted up and taken to Oz. Don’t think my tent is sturdy enough to squish a witch…

After consulting we several of “the guys” here at the RV park, we decide to walk about a mile or so to a bakery for breakfast. Ended up getting a yummy sticky bun, sausage, and some hot chocolate. I needed all the extra calories to recover from the walk 🙂

DSC03609

On the way back, we stopped at a sportsman store and lucked into some earplugs in the shooting section. I’ve been using disposable earplugs since I lost my reusable ones early in the trip, and I’m almost out. They actually had the same brand that I was using before! Hopefully I can keep track of them for the 3-4 days of riding we have left (after a couple of days on the ferry).

After dropping off the earplugs in the tent, we decided to walk around the waterfront and take a few pictures. There is a cruise ship in town today…

DSC03633

and they had a big totem pole on the waterfront.

DSC03644

We looped back through town again and stopped at an outdoor recreation store. I bought a big sheet of mosquito netting for $9. I figure that if the zipper on the tent door fails, I can duct tape up some bug netting to keep from being eaten alive in the tent (If there happen to be bugs around).

Another trip back to the tent to drop things off, and then time for lunch! Halibut and Chips today!

IMG_0524

Again it was back to the campground. We spent a good chunk of the afternoon planning our route from Prince Rupert to home. It really looks like we’ll be able to do it in 3 days, which will put us home late in the day on June 30th (there was a nice lady who insisted that we would have no problem making it in 3 days, she’s done it lots of times). So, unless we get tired and stop early on one of the days, we’ve got a solid plan.

The halibut that I caught and had shipped home arrived today. The only problem – it was supposed to arrive yesterday. About half of the shipment had thawed. Fortunately I had insured it, so I called up FedEx. They said I have to call the shippers (the fish processing company) and they have to file a claim. I talked to the processing company and they said they would take care of it and send me out some more fish. I’m still waiting for a call back, but keeping my fingers crossed.

We walked to the Lighthouse Restaurant next door and grabbed dinner. Look! I had something healthy! (if you ignore the fact that the fish was soaked with garlic butter).

IMG_0525

Spending the rest of the evening getting organized for the ferry tomorrow – we don’t have access to the bikes while the boat is underway. I’m trying to figure out how I can most efficiently get my stuff from the bike to the cabin. Then it is off to bed.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

