Day 26: Looking Forward to a Real Shower

Miles Today: 328
Miles Total: 3896
Weather: Sunny, Lower 90s
Consecutive Days with a cow sighting: 4

We needed to put on some miles today (compared to the last few travel days anyhow), so we got up and on the road fairly early.  The first problem popped up before we even got going.  While I was pulling the rear slide in, it tipped up at a very steep angle.  I took my finger off the “in” button immediately and it leveled itself out, and then I pulled it the rest of the way in.  Tonight we’ve barely put it out so we can access the drawers.  I’m going to call Camping World tomorrow and add it to the things they look at for Friday.  Fortunately, tonight is our last night in the motorhome until Sunday because we are staying at the Hard Rock Hotel! 

Which brings me to the title of the post – I’ve only used the motorhome shower since we left Montana (so about 20 days).  I’m looking forward to a real shower, with real water pressure, that I don’t have to keep turning off to conserve water and holding tank space.

The drive today was pretty uneventful.  We drove the Jeep separately from the motorhome so I could do a mileage test.  We made it all the way to the campground before we filled up with fuel.   We got 7.74 mpg, which was a bit less than I expected – most of the tank was between 55 and 60 mph over flat terrain.  Doing the math in my head (which probably means it is wrong), I’d have to get about 10 mpg in order to break even driving the two vehicles separately. 

We made it to Saint Marys,GA, which is 1 mile shy of the Florida border (took exit #1 to get here).  The campsite we are at is kind of nice – it is right next to the storage shed, but they’ve put in a nice concrete pad and a table with chairs and umbrella instead of a picnic table.  Too bad it was in the low 90s with 80%+ humidity, so we opted to stay in the nice air conditioned motorhome.

Went out to a bbq place for dinner tonight – Sonny’s Barbeque.  It is a small chain, but they had awesome food, and the servings were huge.  Just what I needed a 2000 calorie dinner since I haven’t been working out at all :).  It was worth it for one night though.

Right now everyone is packing for the hotel for tomorrow night.  Because of the slide issue, we are trying to get everything ready so we don’t have to put it out again.  I’m worried that it will get stuck in the open position, and then we would really be hosed.  Didn’t take any pictures today – I have not been doing a very good job with pictures this trip 😦

Leave a Reply

